Meiko Launches New Album Pre-Order Campaign via PledgeMusic

Acclaimed alt-pop singer-songwriter Meiko announced the upcoming release of her next album (currently untitled) via PledgeMusic today. The new LP, being recorded in Nashville with producer Joshua Grange (Sheryl Crow, k.d. lang, Dwight Yoakum), will be independently released, and is now available for pre-order at Additionally, a portion of all proceeds earned through Meiko’s PledgeMusic campaign will be donated to the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

By pre-ordering through PledgeMusic, fans can be a part of the recording process and will have access to exclusive content including video footage from the studio, signed memorabilia, early demo recordings, a name in liner notes, and limited-edition vinyl.

This album is a follow-up to Meiko’s 2014 Concord Music Group LP, Dear You.

Later this month, Meiko will embark on “The Hapa Tour”, a co-headlining run of concerts in the U.S. with Marié Digby, in which they’ll celebrate their part-Asian (“hapa”) heritage. For a list of dates, visit

Hapa Tour Admatmsam

Meiko & Marié Digby Announce “The Hapa Tour”

Meiko and Marié Digby announced today that they’ll embark on a string of U.S. tour dates together in February and March. Beginning in San Diego on Feb. 24, they’ll also bring “The Hapa Tour” to Costa Mesa, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, San Francisco (Mill Valley), Chicago (Evanston), Marshfield, WI, and Minneapolis (dates, cities, venues, and ticket links are HERE). Additional shows in the northwest and northeast will be announced soon.

A “Hapa” is a person of mixed racial heritage with partial roots in Asian and/or Pacific Islander ancestry. Meiko is one-quarter Japanese on her maternal grandmother’s side, and Marié’s mother is Japanese. The idea to put together a tour celebrating this heritage was the brainchild of Meiko: “My sister and I were the only part-Asian kids growing up in our small town in Georgia, so it was always awkward when people asked ‘what ARE you?’ I wanted to put together a little tour celebrating ‘Hapa-ness’ and to spread the word – mainly to let kids out there know it’s not weird to have parents of different ethnic backgrounds. It’s actually pretty awesome and more common than you think!”

Of being Hapa, Marié says, “It feels like being part of a tribe. In this day and age, so many of us come from mixed backgrounds. Growing up with one Japanese parent and one Irish parent was such a unique and culturally rich experience, and it’s definitely influenced me as an artist and musician.”

Sponsored by PledgeMusic and the USC Ito Center Hapa Japan Project, the tour dates will also feature up-and-coming local Hapa artists from each city as opening acts.

Both Meiko and Marié Digby will soon announce their plans to record new albums – stay tuned!


Meiko Featured On Cities 97 Radio Charity Sampler

Meiko, along with artists including Walk The Moon, Colbie Caillat, Mat Kearney, Elle King, and ZZ Ward (among others), has donated a live recording of her song “Be Mine” from a recent “Studio C” performance at KTCZ (Cities 97) Minneapolis to the Cities 97 Sampler Volume 27 charity compilation. The limited-edition 17-track sampler will be made available at Target stores in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area beginning Tuesday, November 17, and proceeds will go to over 60 Minnesota-area charities. For more information about the sampler and the charities, visit

MEIKO - Live EP Cover for MSAM

Meiko To Release Live EP October 23

Meiko announced today that she will be independently releasing a seven-song live EP titled Live Songs From The Hotel Cafe on October 23. Featuring six live versions of fan favorites recorded during various Meiko concerts at the venerable L.A. venue The Hotel Café, it will also include a brand new live track titled “Perfect Fit”. You can hear “Perfect Fit (Live)” on SoundCloud HERE.

Live Songs From The Hotel Cafe EP Track List:

1. Boys With Girlfriends (Live)
2. Reasons To Love You (Live)
3. Perfect Fit (Live)
4. The Cloud Song (Live)
5. Sleep (Live)
6. Under My Bed (Live)
7. You Gotta F**kin’ Tip (Live)